On Saturday 5th March 2011 the St Paul's Cathedral Guild bell ringers rang a peal of 5060 Stedman Cinques to celebrate 60 years of bellringing by our steeple keeper, David Stipetic. Below is a picture of the ringers.
Click on image for larger version
and also a picture of the Holy Trinity ringers making a presentation to David to mark the occasion
The beautifully carved coralloid marble font, which is still in use, stands at the west end of the church and dates from around 1380. William Wilberforce, MP for Hull and pioneering abolitionist of the slave trade, is one of many to have been baptised here.
There are many outstanding examples of stained glass work throughout the church. What Holy Trinity lacks in medieval glass, it more than compensates for in a rewarding range of Victorian and 20th Century glass of the highest quality.
Holy Trinity houses many interesting stones, plaques and memorials to significant players in the city’s history, a few commissioned, inspected (and in one case even sculpted) by those in question before they died!
A rare and world-renowned organ, the instrument is unchanged since it was rebuilt by John Compton in 1937-38 though the oldest parts are 18th century. At 104 speaking stops and over 4000 pipes, it is the largest parish church organ in the UK. Come to a recital or a service to experience its inspiring sound.
This version of the Star Wars theme was performed as a request at a wedding
The fine oak carvings on the nave pew ends date from the 1840’s and were fashioned by local craftsman George Peck, famed for introducing “fine arts” to colonial Australia. The medieval style carvings contain many weird and wonderful sculptures including animals, different faces, green men and a Lincoln Imp. Genuine medieval pew ends can be found in the chancel.